Jeffrey Goldstone and Me

It happens once in a while that I appear (to my self) a true genius. That offers me some time off from being a complete fool which is my default mode. I work on my own when building this Do It Myself Universe so I have no one telling me what’s valuable and what’s BS. I have to figure that out as I go along. I have this awkward sense of (a) having missed the point totally, and (b) everyone else having missed the point totally. The former is probably correct and the latter not likely. Hopefully there might be something hiding in-between, but I couldn’t tell you what that would be.

Anyway, I just had one of these genius-moments which I thought I could share, risking everyones dislike for showing off intelligence with exactly nothing to back it up. I might just be a damn lier and narcissistic nutcase…maybe I am?
I have this idea of the initial state of universe that seems to agree with the Hartle-Hawkins model. In this, I believe myself to have a pretty good idea of what their singularity is (a monopole), and how the monopole symmetry breaks. As I write this, I find that “my” model corresponds to this:

One of the first cases of broken symmetry discussed in the physics literature is related to the form taken by a uniformly rotating body of incompressible fluid in gravitational and hydrostatic equilibrium. Jacobi and soon later Liouville, in 1834, discussed the fact that a tri-axial ellipsoid was an equilibrium solution for this problem when the kinetic energy compared to the gravitational energy of the rotating body exceeded a certain critical value. The axial symmetry presented by the McLaurin spheroids is broken at this bifurcation point. Furthermore, above this bifurcation point, and for constant angular momentum, the solutions that minimize the kinetic energy are the non-axially symmetric Jacobi ellipsoids instead of the Maclaurin spheroids.

I claim that the Einsteinian singularity is rotating viscoelastic point of contraction, and the context in which it breaks are in effect a perfect cavity since there is nothing external to the initial state. If true, this would explain a lot of what appears “mystical” and “weird” in quantum mechanics. Now, the process I vision to follow the symmetry breaking turns out to produce something very similar to Goldstone Bosons. Had I known about these little guys before, I would feel less creative for sure, but I didn’t. I read about them 20 minutes ago. That gives me a bit of confidence in the midst of uncertainty. I allow myself to believe I’m actually on the right track here. But I’m also convinced that whatever I’m about to tell has been told before. I don’t expect to bring anything new to the table. But perhaps I can offer an unusual and valuable perspective on the old news…I don’t know.

Maybe the initial state is a monopole that breaks itself in a way similar to that described by MacLaurin and Jacobi? Maybe we just need to understand why it is so, why it has to be so?
Maybe we need to add the notion of a cavity when thinking about the singularity?
In a cavity, light and matter seems to merge into one entity/system. That makes perfect sense in my model of the initial Monopole. It has to be so. Everything must have been like that on Square 0.

The void is that cavity, and it need not be engineered. It simply is the environment of the universe. Always was, and always will be.

Leave a Reply

